Election 2018: What. A. Night.

Ventura County Districts

(Ventura County, CA) An electrified election season did not disappoint as Ventura County voters went to the polls to decide on their officials and ballot measures. With polls closed at 8pm, candidates eagerly checked the Ventura County Recorders website for continuous updates that were completed only in the wee morning hours.

With the jungle primary, California voters were able to determine the top two contenders regardless of party affiliation. Certain races brought forth two candidates from the same party.

In the Governor’s race, John Cox was the surprising winner of the number 2 spot with 26.2% of the vote behind Democrat Gavin Newsom who had 33.3% of the vote. In a hard fought fight, Antonio Villaraigosa came in third with 13.5%.

In a tight race for Lieutenant Governor, Democrat Eleni Kounalakis came in first with 891,964 votes and Democrat Ed Hernandez received 790,039. Republican Cole Harris came in 3rd with 698,153 votes.

Republican Mark Meuser came in 2nd for Secretary of State behind incumbent Alex Padilla.

For State Controller, Democrat Betty Yee came in first with Republican Konstantinos Roditis set to be on the November ballot as well.

In the Treasurer’s Race, Democrat Fiona Ma came in first with Republican Greg Conlon in 2nd with 22% of the vote.

The state’s top attorney position turned out incumbent Democrat Xavier Becerra and Republican Steve Bailey.

In one of a couple races where a Republican took the top spot, Republican Steve Poizner took the top spot for Insurance Commissioner and Democrat Ricardo Lara took the number 2 spot.

For Superintendent of Public Instructions, unsurprisingly, Marshall Tuck and Tony Thurmond took 1st and 2nd.

In a race with 32 candidates, Democrat Dianne Feinstein came in 1st place for U.S. Senator with Progressive Democrat Kevin De Leon taking 2nd place.

For State Ballot Measures, Voters Said Yes to Prop 68, a natural resources bond, along with Prop 69, a restriction on the uses of Transportation revenues. Voters also said yes to Prop 71, which provides a few days reprieve on effective dates for ballot measures, and yes to Prop 72, which excludes rain capture devices in the calculation of property taxes. Votes said No to Prop 70, which means the Legislature can continue to authorize spending state revenue collected from the sale of greenhouse gas emission permits with a majority vote. The current state sales tax exemption for manufacturing and certain other equipment remains in effect until July 1, 2030

In a decisive victory for State Board of Equalization District 3, Republican G Rick Marshall won the top seed with Democrat Tony Vasquez receiving the second spot.

For U.S. Congress, District 24 went to Democrat Salud Carbajal and Republican Justin Fareed for 1st and 2nd place.

District 25 has Republican Steve Knight as the decisive 1st place winner and Democrat Katie Hill in the 2nd spot.

For District 26, Incumbent Julia Brownley maintained the top spot and Republican Antonio Sabato, Jr. coming in the 2nd spot for the November elections.

For District 30, Democrat Brad Sherman came in the top spot with Republican Mark Reed in 2nd place.

In the State Assembly, Democrat S. Monique Limon came in first in the 37th District and Democrat David Norrdin took the 2nd pot. No Republican candidates entered this race.

In the 38th Assembly District, Republican Danta Acosta came in first with Democrat Christy Smith coming in second. Only two candidates were named in this race.

In the 44th Assembly District, Democrat Jacqui Irwin received the top spot with just over 3,000 more votes than Republican Ronda-Baldwin Kennedy.

In the 45th Assembly District, Republican Justin Clark came in second after the top spot went to Democrat Jesse Gabriel.

For Superior Court Judge Office No. 4, Anthony Sabo won the top spot and for Superior Court Judge Office No. 6 Derek Malan came in first.

For Supervisor- 4th District, Bob Huber came in first place with Bernando Perez in the 2nd spot.

For many county positions were unopposed.

* Superintendent of Schools: Stanley Mantooth
* Supervisor- 2nd District; Linda Parks
* Assessor: Dan Goodwin
* Audit-Controller: Jeffery Burgh
* County Clerk & Recorder: Mark Lunn
* District Attorney: Greg Totten
* Sheriff: Bill Ayub
* Treasurer-Tax Collector: Steve Hintz

In local ballot races, Measure A, B, C, and D were passed

The General Election is set for Tuesday, November 6, 2018 as the final decision day for voters on many of the above races.